Libertarians and the Iraq War

I’m not a libertarian but I really liked this post over at the Cato at Liberty blog.  Gene Healy raises an interesting question.

Is libertarianism really a political philosophy that tells you what to think about mandatory recycling and restrictions on the interstate shipment of wine, but has virtually nothing of interest to say about when it might be morally permissible to use daisy cutters and thermobaric bombs?

I’m not really sure what the answer is, to be honest.  I have a slightly more than passing familiarity with libertarianism and I sympathize with the notion that individuals should have as much autonomy as possible, but only if it is socially responsible. 

I don’t see government as an extension of our families and therefore I think it should stay out of family business. 

But I do think that the collective will of persons should be reflected to a large extent in their government, especially when it comes to protecting an individual’s autonomy. 

What does this have to do with Iraq?  I suppose that depends on what we’re doing there.  Is it to protect our people?  I think that claim hardly has any credibility anymore.  Is it to open markets for our corporate/oil interests?  I don’t consider corporations to be persons, legal fictions be damned, so it is inappropriate for our government to be serving those interests. 

I’ve thought a little bit about this and I really cannot come up with the libertarian rationale for the war. 

Anyway, check out the link.  Definitely good stuff there. 

Explore posts in the same categories: iraq, libertarianism

One Comment on “Libertarians and the Iraq War”


  1. This libertarian regards war as mass murder, paid for with stolen money.


Leave a comment